Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search



Beneath cruel waters  Cover Image Book Book

Beneath cruel waters / Jon Bassoff.

Bassoff, Jon, 1974- (author.).

Record details

  • ISBN: 1799938883
  • ISBN: 9781799938880
  • Physical Description: 304 pages ; 24 cm
  • Publisher: Ashland, Oregon : Blackstone Publishing, 2022.

Content descriptions

Summary, etc.:
Holt Davidson, a Kansas firefighter, hasn't been back to his hometown of Thompsonville, Colorado, for more than two decades, but when he learns that his estranged mother has taken her own life, he returns for the funeral, hoping to make peace with her memory. He spends the night at his childhood home, rummaging through each room, exploring the past. But instead of nostalgic souvenirs, he discovers a gun, a love letter, and a Polaroid photograph of a man lying in his own blood. Who is the dead man? Was his mother the one who killed him, and, if so, why? Who sent the love letter? And what role did his sister, institutionalized since she was a teenager, play in this act of violence? As his own traumatic memories begin to resurface, Holt begins an investigation into his mother's and sister's pasts--as well as his own. A wrenching psychological thriller in the vein of Tana French's In the Woods, Jon Bassoff's Beneath Cruel Waters reminds us that the sins of the mothers are the sins of the sons
Subject: Mothers > Death > Fiction.
Murder > Investigation > Fiction.
Fire fighters > Fiction.
Genre: Psychological fiction.

Available copies

  • 3 of 7 copies available at Missouri Evergreen. (Show)
  • 1 of 1 copy available at De Soto.

Holds

  • 0 current holds with 7 total copies.
Show Only Available Copies
Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
De Soto Public Library F Bas (Text) 33858000016232 New Books Available -


Additional Resources